The University of Adelaide (colloquially Adelaide University or Adelaide Uni) is a public university inAdelaide, South Australia. Established in 1874, it is the third oldest university in Australia. The University has produced over 100 Rhodes scholars including Australia's first Indigenous recipient. There are now five Nobel Laureates among its alumni community. It is renowned as a world-leading education and research institution and is consistently ranked in the top 1% of universities worldwide,and is a member of the Group of Eight, as well as the sandstone universities.
Its main campus is on North Terrace in the Adelaide city centre, adjacent to the Art Gallery of South Australia, the South Australian Museum and the State Library of South Australia. The university has five campuses throughout the state: North Terrace; Roseworthy College at Roseworthy; The Waite Institute at Urrbrae; Thebarton; and the National Wine Centre in the Adelaide Park Lands. It has a sixth campus, the Ngee Ann – Adelaide Education Centre (NAAEC), in Singapore.
The University currently enrolls in excess of 25,000 students, including 5,758 international students (2009) from more than 99 countries. Adelaide University has approximately 130,000 Alumni worldwide, along with 400 student exchange agreements.
The QS World University Rankings for 2013/2014 ranked the University of Adelaide 104th in the world's top 300 universities, and it has many subjects ranked within the top 100 in the world, such as Computer Science and Information System, Economics and Econometrics, Accounting and Finance, Law, Biological Science, and English language & Literature.
The University has a long history of championing the rights of women in higher education. In 1881, it was the first Australian university to admit women to science courses and its first female graduate was Edith Emily Dornwell (BSc., 1885). The university also graduated the first female surgeon, Laura Fowler (MB, 1891). Ruby Davy (B. Mus., 1907; D. Mus., 1918) was the first Australian woman to receive a doctorate in music. The University was also the first to elect a woman to a University Council in Australia, Helen Mayo (MBBS, 1902).
For more infomation: