ACARA is responsible for the Australian Curriculum, a curriculum for all schools across the nation. The Australian Curriculum ensures that every child, wherever they live or whichever school they attend, has access to the same world-class curriculum. 

  • Quality – an Australian Curriculum will contribute to the provision of a world-class education in Australia by setting out the knowledge, understanding and skills needed for life and work in the 21st century and by setting high standards of achievement across the country.
  • Equity – an Australian Curriculum will provide a clear, shared understanding of what young people should be taught and the quality of learning expected of them, regardless of their circumstances, the type of school that they attend or the location of their school.

Below are the curriculums that are applied in schools Australian wide. 

From Foundation(Prep) to Year10(there are links on each subject that you can click into to find more detailed information regarding this subject):




Humanities and Social Sciences

The Arts includes: Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, and Visual Arts.


Health and Phicial Education

Languages refers to languages other than English. Each school would apply different language lessons according to their curriculum strength. 

Year 11 - 12:

Fifteen senior secondary subjects across English, Mathematics, Science, History and Geography have been endorsed by the council of federal, state and territory education ministers as the agreed and common base for the development of state and territory senior secondary courses. English, Mathematics, Science and History subjects were endorsed in December 2012, and Geography was endorsed in July 2013.

English The senior secondary Australian Curriculum for English is presented in four subjects that share common features: English, English as additional language or dialect, Essential English, Literature.

Mathematics Mathematics consists of four subjects in mathematics, Essential Mathematics, General Mathematics, Mathematical Methods, Specialist Mathematics.  with each subject organised into four units.

Sciences The Australian Curriculum senior secondary Science subjects build on student learning in the Foundation to Year 10 Science curriculum and include:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Physics.

Humanities and Social Sciences The senior secondary Australian Curriculum: History consists of two subjects – Ancient History and Modern History.

All the above curriculum information can refer to Australia Curriculum