The Australian National University

The Australian National University (ANU) was established in 1946 to be of enduring significance in the post-war life of the nation – to support the development of national unity and identity, to improve Australia’s understanding of itself and its neighbours, and to contribute to economic development and social cohesion. The University’s mandate was to “advance the cause of learning and research ... and take its rightful place among the great universities of the world”.
ANU is Australia’s most research-intensive university and consistently ranked among the best universities in the world by a range of international measures. The University’s academic profile is driven by comprehensive investigation of important long-term issues and disciplines. In 2011, 94 per cent of research from ANU scholars was rated above world standard by the Australian Government’s Excellence in Research for Australia initiative.  
ANU provides an education in which learning and research sit side by side. Students study alongside internationally renowned thinkers at the top of their respective fields – forming relationships based on mutual achievement, scholarly curiosity and the extension of knowledge. The University currently hosts more than 18,000 students, 40 per cent of whom are studying at a postgraduate level. The global reputation of ANU also attracts students from around the world, with roughly one quarter of students coming from overseas.  
ANU graduates go on to make a real contribution towards the future in a broad range of leadership positions in government, business, research and academia. The 75,000-strong ANU alumni network includes former Prime Ministers Kevin Rudd and Bob Hawke and six Nobel Laureates. It is upon this foundation that the success of ANU stands – people of quality and substance working together to progress knowledge and build a legacy for future generations. 
The University also collaborates closely with other research organisations, national institutions and Federal, State and Territory Governments. Through these networks, generations of ANU scholars, teachers and graduates have shaped government policy and public debate, making a very real contribution to the economic, cultural and social prosperity of the nation.
The main ANU campus is nestled on 145 hectares of parkland in the centre of the nation’s capital city, Canberra. Facilities include world-class laboratories, instruments and lecture theatres, two million volumes on the shelves of five main libraries and access to a wealth of e-resources. More than 5,000 students live on or near the vibrant campus, with access to all the conveniences of a small town, including medical services, shops, cafés, restaurants, art galleries, sporting fields and bookshops – all within walking distance of the city centre. 
 For more information visit:

The University of Canberra

The University of Canberra (UC) is a public university that is located in Bruce, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory.
UC offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses covering six main learning areas: Applied Science; Health; Art and Design; Business, Government and law; Education and Information Sciences and Engineering. UC is partnered with two local ACT schools UC Senior Secondary College Lake Ginninderra (formerly Lake Ginninderra Senior Secondary College) and University of Canberra High School (formerly Kaleen High School). The University of Canberra College also provides other pathways into university for domestic and international students.

The campus is within walking distance of the Westfield shopping and entertainment complex of Belconnen, and just 12 minutes by regular bus service or car from Canberra's Civic Centre.
 For more information visit:

Australian Catholic University

Australian Catholic university was opened on 1 January 
1991, a public not-for-profit university funded by the Australian Government. It is open to students and staff of all beliefs and all backgrounds. ACU is Australia's leading Catholic university and is supported by more than 2,000 years of Catholic intellectual tradition. 
ACU has six campuses located in the state capital cities of Melbourne, Sydney, and Brisbane, the national capital, Canberra, and the regional centre of Ballarat. The university has a strategy of research concentration in four areas: Theology and Philosophy; Health; Education; and the Common Good and Social Justice. Australian Catholic University achieved a number of coveted 'five-star' performance ratings in the 2010 edition of The Good Universities Guide.
The university performed particularly well in the area of indigenous participation, with four out of the six campuses receiving the highest ratings in their individual states for this category. Similarly, the university performed strongly in the areas of access and equity and proportion given credit for TAFE studies.
The most recent report by the Australian Universities Quality Agency (AUQA), commended ACU for its highly supportive student environment, the outcomes it has achieved for Indigenous students and its positive engagement with the community. It is ranked as one of the best Universities for business in the world.
For more information visit: